Requirements for the submission

To participate in the Romance Writing Life competition we require 3 key things.

#1. You must register an account through the Kobo Writing Life platform to submit your entry.

#2. A 500 word synopsis.

#3. The first chapter of your story.

It’s really important that you take the time to read the T’s & C’s for the competition in full but here are some key pointers on the presentation of your submission that must be followed for us to accept your entry.

  • Your submission should be in English, in a single Word document in 12-point, double-spaced font;
  • You must own the rights to your submission and NOT have published it previously – although self-publishing digitally is accepted;
  • Your Synopsis should be no more than 500 words, and should outline the story concept, plot, characters, conflict and setting;
  • Your First Chapter should be no more than 5,000 words;
  • The first page of your Submission should contain the following information: the title, your name, e-mail address and phone number (including applicable country and area code), and a computer word count of the First Chapter;
  • Make sure pages are numbered in the header and each page contains the title and your name.

You can download a template [here] that adheres to the above criteria. Remember to also follow the below editorial and review process guidance though too.

 

Editorial Guidance

Remember, the M&B Single Title imprint is a commercial romantic fiction list. We’re looking for strong, hook-driven stories, with real mass-market appeal. Perfect for readers who enjoy Jenny Colgan, Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi McFarlane and curling up with a good rom-com. Mills & Boon Single Title publishes exciting, contemporary women’s fiction filled romantic spark and featuring a love story at heart.

 

Review Process Criteria

 We will be judging entries on three key criteria:

  • Voice: This is what makes you special as a writer, and is the unique element that makes your writing stand out from the crowd. These are the quirks and hallmarks that make a novel unmistakably your work. Voice is what will keep bringing fans back to your writing book after book.
  • Content: Content is plot and what the story is about, (i.e. what makes this a story that needs to be told?). We sometimes call this the commercial hook, and are looking for stories that are compelling enough that you could pitch them in a sentence.
  • Writing Skills: Is your writing strong and clear enough to convey meaning and emotion easily?

 

Submission Template

[Enter Title]

[Enter your name]

[Enter your email]

[Enter your mobile phone number including country and area code]

[Enter computer word count of first chapter]

Synopsis

Your Synopsis should be no more than 500 words, and should outline the story concept, plot, characters, conflict and setting;

Chapter 1

Your First Chapter should be no more than 5,000 words. This document should be 12 point font and double-spaced. This template is pre-set with those settings.

 

25 thoughts on “Submission

  1. I’m a little confused. In order to register for the competition, you need to have an active Kobo Writing Life account, which requires you giving your bank details. As this competition is free and I don’t have a fully active book yet to publish, why do I need to give my bank details in order to complete my registration?

    Thank you.

    1. Dear Vivienne,
      You don’t have to register your bank details. You just need to sign up to Kobo Writing Life with an active email account and a password of your choosing.

      The registration of your bank account details is NOT required to enter the competition.

      Good Luck!

      Diego

    1. Hi Jane,
      Yes you can, as long as you keep those as separate entries. However,it is worth pointing out this is not a probability game.

      Receiving many entries from the same author can have a counter productive effect, unless all your entries are consistently excellent.

      My advice is to focus on what you regard being your best work and make you submission as curated as possible.

      Good luck,

      Diego

    1. Hi Varun,
      Yes it can, as long as you will be able to complete the novel by the end of September 2015.

      Good luck,

      Diego

  2. My novel has been self published in digital and paperback form (Via amazon) does this exclude me from entering this novel?

    1. Hi Joanne,
      If you are in full possess of all the rights of your novel you can enter the competition.

      Good luck,

      Diego

      1. Hi

        I have also self published in digital and paperback form (via Createspace). It does specify digital only in the T&C, so I just wanted to check if I can submit or not?

        Kind regards

        Cassandra

        1. Hi,
          if you are in full possess of all the rights of both print and digital editions you can enter the competition.

          With regards,

          Diego

    1. Hello Yvon,
      The competition is open to English language manuscripts only. There is not a KWL competition for French authors at the moment. However, if you keep an eye on our French blog (kobowritinglife.fr) there are always new initiatives coming up.

      Kind Regards,

      Diego

  3. Can an author resubmit when she’s sees she made a mistake? She’s already banged her head on her keyboard. I entered from a different link and did not see the submission template

    1. Hi Victoria,
      if you tell me when you made the submission along with the email address you used, I can cancel your entry so that you can make a new one. Please, send me a written cancellation request at dmarano@kobo.com.

      With regards,

      Diego

    1. Hi Elisabeth,
      The competition prize consists of a publishing contract for 1 single novel. Any other possible option is at discretion of M&B and I cannot answer for them.

      That said, publishing in a series is such a popular trend that it would not be surprising if the winning title spawned several sequels.

      Good luck,

      Diego

    1. Hi Peter,
      The competition winners will be posted on the website by the end of August. In case there was any delay, due to the high number of entries, an updated will be posted on the competition website by August 28.

      Good luck,

      Diego

    1. Hi John,
      The competition ends on July 31, 2015 at 11:59 pm EDT (Toronto).

      The Easter Daylight Time is 5 hours behind London (BST). So the deadline in the UK will technically be at 4:59 am, August 1, 2015.

      Good Luck,

      Diego

  4. The entry form requires me to enter my email but does not ask me to log in to my Kobo Writing Life account. Do I simply enter the email I have registered as my Kobo Writing account?

    1. Hi,
      That’s correct. You just need to enter the same email you used for your Kobo Writing Life account.
      We’ll then check all the emails, used to enter the competition, against the KWL database.

      Good luck,

      Diego

  5. I finally submitted my entry today and just want to wish everyone good luck and thank M&B, Kobo and WHSmith for the opportunity. Here’s to HAEs!

    1. Hi Jeanna,
      We are glad to see such positive attitude from you and from so many other authors like you.

      Thanks for sharing this.

      Good luck!

      Diego

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *